Our Story


AWA (Artists, Writers & Artisans) was established with the goal of building a truly creator-first company where a diverse group of the most outstanding artists, writers, and artisans could do their best work and retain ownership of their ideas.

Artists Writers & Artisans

AWA founders Jon Miller, Bill Jemas & Axel Alonso are joined by strategic investors Lupa Systems, Sister, and Lightspeed.

AWA Strategic Investors


Chief Creative Officer, Axel Alonso assembles the AWA Creative Council with creative luminaries J. Michael Straczynski, Gregg Hurwitz, Frank Cho, and Garth Ennis to develop some of the freshest and most critically-acclaimed, original graphic fiction in a generation.

March 2020

AWA publishes its first series and launches the Upshot Shared Universe.

The Resistance #1 Cover A

June 2021

In early 2021, the company established AWA Studios, its Film and TV division, which is led by Hollywood veteran Zach Studin. AWA Studios announced its first feature film project, CHARIOT, which was bought by Warner Bros. with Joe Kosinski (Top Gun: Maverick) directing and producing in partnership with AWA.

December 2021

AWA hires longtime DC editor Mike Cotton as Executive Editor, doubling its editorial studios.

January 2022

AWA sells its millionth comic.

The Resistance #1

February 2022

AWA releases bilingual series Primos by Al Madrigal, selling out almost immediately.

Primos #1

One look at [AWA's] line up of titles and you'll notice an assemblage of craftsmen and craftswomen creating bold, out-of-the-ordinary, original material...

Source: PREVIEWSworld

Sign up for our weekly Insider Newsletter